The earlybird almost gets eaten by a cat

I know it’s now nearly the end of week 4, but as I didn’t update you last week I will cast my mind back to give you a full progress report.

I think I prayed more during week 3 than I’ve done for a long time. Every day I was confronted with the news that a friend was suffering in some way; a sudden heart attack, a death in the family, the loss of a little baby. Such tragedies leave us feeling helpless, our words of comfort sound like empty platitudes, our gestures fall dismally short of the love needed to heal broken hearts. It was such a relief to be able to use my quiet times to bring these dear friends before the LORD, and to know that though I couldn’t help them, they were in the hands of One who could. As I read a psalm each morning the LORD brought me to verses I could text to my friends to offer encouragement and comfort. It’s also been a privilege to see God answering my prayers and upholding those folks in their sadness.  I experienced that sweet peace that we can feel when we cast our cares (and the cares of others) on Him.

I also faced a dilemma in the last week. I went away over the weekend to visit Simeon and his family, which meant a change to my routine. I found myself worrying about how I would keep my quiet times up if I was getting up at different times and if there were more people in the house. Thankfully I was reminded of Carolyn Mahaney’s wise words about our faith being in a Saviour not in a system! I had a quiet time in the morning on days when it was convenient, and enjoyed a time of prayer with Simeon on the other days.

The last morning of my visit, I had company for my quiet time. The household cat decided to join me, curling up in my lap on the bed, purring fervently as I read Psalm 18 aloud. It was lovely to stroke the cat and listen to her responding to the sound of her Creator’s words. However, a problem occurred when I came to the end of my quiet time. Rasta (the cat) had made her way down to sit on my feet whilst I prayed, so when I attempted to get out of bed, Rasta felt the sheets moving beneath her and took it to be an attack upon her person, and responded with claws and spitting! Needless to say I kept my distance for the rest of the day, though perhaps she was trying to tell me I hadn’t prayed enough!     

Only a few more days to go until the 28 day challenge is over! Will I be able to keep up the habit? We’ll have to wait and see, but one thing is for sure, I know “I can do everything through him who gives me strength.”  Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

